At their meeting on November 26th, and following careful review of all nominees, the board unanimously appointed Katherine Carscallen (F/V Sea Hawk) to fill the Alaska-resident board seat recently vacated by Chris McDowell. Katherine, born and raised in the Bristol Bay region, has 15 years experience fishing in the Bay.

On behalf of every drift permit-holder in the Bay, the board extends its thanks to the other eight Alaska residents/permit-holders who expressed an interest in serving. The BBRSDA is a vital organization precisely because there are so many permit-holders willing to give their time and energy to strengthening our fishery. Thank you!

And for all those who may be interested in serving on the board in the future, a new election cycle is about to begin. The following positions are up in 2013: Seat A (Alaska Resident Position; Robert Heyano as incumbent), Seat D (Non-Alaska Resident position; Matt Luck as incumbent), and Seat G (Open-Residency Position; Matt Marinkovich as incumbent). A call for nominations for these seats will be mailed to all permit-holders in late December.

We hope you will join us in congratulating Katherine on her appointment.