December 10, 2014

It is with regret that BBRSDA accepts the resignation of Matt Luck from our board of directors. We sincerely thank Matt for his years of service to the Bristol Bay drift fleet. He performed with diligence and dedication to the fishery, and his experience and passion will be missed.

Consistent with our bylaws, the board will fill this vacancy, designated for a non-Alaskan S03T permit holder, by developing a slate of candidates and choosing a new member by a two-thirds vote. The board is now inviting letters of interest from non-Alaskan holders of Bristol Bay drift permits interested in serving the balance of the Seat D term, ending in mid-2016.

The board is responsible for establishing policies and standing rules of the BBRSDA, and to manage the affairs and the budget of the association. The volunteer board of the BBRSDA is made up of seven permit holders who meet approximately six times per year for in-person two-day meetings (generally five in Seattle, WA and one in Anchorage, AK), and also meet occasionally for teleconferences. In addition, board members attend the pre-season annual membership meeting held in early June (alternating between Naknek and Dillingham), as well as meetings held in conjunction with Pacific Marine Expo in Seattle. Board members are also expected to participate as members of two standing committees (from among the Finance, Sustainability, Quality, and Marketing committees).

The executive director, on behalf of the board, will accept letters of interest through December 30th. Please limit letters of interest to 350 words, and email to

Potential board members should be willing and available to attend board training on January 13, followed by a board meeting on January 14–15, both in Seattle. The board will meet via teleconference the first week of January to select its new member.

For more information about serving on the BBRSDA board, please contact sitting board members ( or executive director, Sue Aspelund: sue@bbrsda.comor 360.927.4295.